Recently, patients have been asking me about the significance of "bear down" and what that exactly does to the exam. A Venous Reflux exam can be tedious if the patient does not know how to properly "bear down". I tell my patients to "bear down" like they are having a bowel movement. Many of them look at me weird and simply say "What does that do"? 

The calf muscle pump is critical in maintaining venous hemodynamics and the purpose of this exam is to know if the calf muscle pump is working effectively. An effective calf muscle pump consists of three things: 1) veins as reservoirs for blood collection 2) the contracting muscles of the legs, and 3) competent valves maintaining unidirectional blood flow. Therefore, when the calf muscle pump is effective, blood moves toward the heart resulting in a decrease in venous pooling, decrease in venous pressure, and an increase in venous return. 


Hopefully my patients know why it is important to "bear down" during the exam. I am craving some dark chocolate I think I might need some energy boost! 
2/14/2012 12:01:26 am

Every healthcare provider should switch to an EMR solution. Paper based records and prescriptions are a thing of the past now and it would be best for both doctors and patients to take advantage of their features and accessibility.

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.

    Author

    I want to reach out to all students and any individual who is interested in the vascular ultrasound field.  Contributing my opinion and experience as a student I can bring awareness so existing or perspective students can benefit from what I have learned. Having the opportunity to voice my experience as a student may help improve challenges that many students go through while becoming a vascular sonographer. Becoming an expert in my field is my passion.


    Archives

    April 2012
    February 2012
    January 2012
    December 2011
    November 2011
    October 2011
    September 2011

    Categories

    All

    RSS Feed